The American Dream is a Lie

Rev. Dr. Sheri Pallas
4 min readDec 19, 2022

It’s Not Enough

Twitch’s death hit me hard. Like Anthony Bourdain, Robin Williams, Kate Spade, and so many more, they had it all, and it wasn’t enough.

Talented, rich, loved by millions, and the freedom that brought them, wasn’t enough.

Twitch, Photo credit: Fox via Getty Images

It wasn’t enough

The lives that I, and so many, dream of.

The lives we think will make everything “better.”

The lives we strive for, hoping to get out of our gloom.

The lives that fill us with hope for our tomorrows.

“If only I…” <won the lottery, became famous, made millions, etc.)

mage Credit: GN Archives

It wasn’t enough.

So, they decided to end their pain, passing it on to millions of us.

But, I’m sure they felt utterly alone.

For most of my life I suffered from, “If only <fill in the blank> I would be happy.”

--

--

Rev. Dr. Sheri Pallas

Social Justice SOULdier. Exposing the man-made flaws in religion that diminish the unconditional love of God